2017 GOM-SCHEMA Excellence in Partnering Award Ceremony

The NOPP Excellence in Partnering Award was presented to 33 collaborators of the Gulf of Mexico Shipwreck Corrosion, Hydrocarbon Exposure, Microbiology, and Archaeology Project (GOM-SCHEMA) at the 2018 Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill and Ecosystem Sciences Conference (GoMOSES) on February 8, 2018 in New Orleans, LA.

The award ceremony was hosted by Walter Johnson, Chief of the Branch of Physical and Chemical Sciences at BOEM and a member of the NOPP Committee. During the ceremony, members of the GOM-SCHEMA team were recognized for their hard work and dedication to the GOM-SCHEMA project and the NOPP effort.

Not all Excellence in Partnering Award recipients were able to receive their awards in person. Below is a full list of award recipients.


Principal Investigators

Dr. Leila J. Hamdan, University of Southern Mississippi 

 Melanie Damour, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management


Co-Principal Investigators

Robert Church, Oceaneering, Inc.

Dr. Lisa Fitzgerald, Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Christopher Horrell, Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement

Sheli Smith, PAST Foundation

Daniel Warren, P&C Scientific



Dr. Dennis Aig, Montana State University

Nicholas Allen, Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium

Tad Berkey, Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium

Dr. Thomas Boyd, Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Roy Cullimore, Droycon Bioconcepts

Dr. Preston Fulmer, Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Yoko Furukawa,  Office of Naval Research

Dr. Danya Haridas, Naval Research Laboratory

Lori Johnson, Droycon Bioconcepts

Dr. Brian Jordan, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Dr. Samantha Joye, University of Georgia

Dr. Jason Lee,  Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Brenda Little, Naval Research Laboratory

Toshinobu Mikagawa, Oceaneering

Dr. James D. Moore, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Roshan Patel, Montana State University

Ricky Ray, Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Allen Reed, Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Jennifer L. Salerno, George Mason University

Jamie Sherwood, Oceaneering



Melissa Brock, University of Southern Mississippi

Sarah Brown, George Mason University

Christine Figan,  George Mason University

Rachel Haley, George Mason University

Zeima Kassahun, George Mason University

Rachel Mugge, University of Southern Mississippi


Congratulations to all award winners and thank you for your ongoing commitment to advancing the field of ocean sciences.